vietnam favorites part 2 – Hanoi

Sites:

[a group of nuns visiting the Temple of Literature]

[the gardens in the Temple of Literature are so luscious and green]

Temple of Literature -  This is a short walk from the Horison Hotel.  It was a great place for taking pictures.  Also, Craftlink is about a block away which is a bonus!

[view from our taxi as we were trying to leave the lake one evening]

Hoan Kiem Lake -  A great place to walk around and spend a morning or afternoon.

[the empty water puppet stage before the show began]

Water Puppet Theatre -This looked very interesting, and the older kids seemed to enjoy it.  We were only able to see a few minutes of it because Piper was having NONE of the sitting still part.  I ended up walking up and down the block with her in the sling waiting for the show to be over. 

Hanoi Street Food Market -Quite an adventure, and not meant for those with weak stomachs.  Great photo taking opportunities.  Not so great smells.

[showing how the soldiers were locked up in the prison]

[prison yard]

Hoa Lo Prison (aka Hanoi Hilton) -This was very interesting.  So much history there, and it’s a nice mellow stop.  We didn’t have much time to hit the shops around it, but it looked like there was some interesting stuff.

Eats:

Mediterraneo - (#23 Nha Tho Street, Hoan Kiem District)  Our FAVORITE non-Vietnamese place to eat in VN by far.  The owner is wonderful, and the food is delicious.  Very relaxed and they have an upstairs with a small patio too.  It’s also on a great street for shopping.

Paris Deli - (13 Nha Tho Street) This was a fun little place for lunch when you felt like something french or American.  Darren gave the burger rave reviews considering it was a burger in Vietnam.

[The delicious buffet at Brothers]

Brothers Cafe - (26 Nguyen Thai Hoc Street, tel: 04/733-3866 dinner reservations recommended for large groups)  We had a wonderful Vietnamese dinner here!  There was a great buffet with a ton of choices.  I think there were even mashed potatoes and a few things that the kids seemed to like. 

{The Green Tangerine is beautiful and romantic…]

Green Tangerine - (48 Hang Be, Hoan Kiem District, tel: 04/825-1286 dinner reservations recommended)  I had great expectations of love love loving this place.  I don’t know if we just didn’t order the right stuff or what, but it was not close to our favorite place.  I really wanted it to be because so many people seem to love it.  If we get to go back to VN again later this year we will give it a second try.

Bobby Chinn - (1 Ba Trieu Street, Hoan Kiem District, tel: 04/934-8577 dinner reservations recommended )  We didn’t actually make it to this restaurant, but it was on our list of places we had wanted to go so I had to keep it on this list.

Shopping:

Craftlink - (43 Van Mieu Street – there is also a main office across the street from this store.  I don’t have the address, but don’t forget to look for it too.  A lot of the same stuff, but a different selection.)  Love this place!!!  A wonderful not-for-profit shop to buy handmade gifts for great prices.

Old Quarter - You could spend days walking up and down the streets around here.  Tons of good shopping!

Nagu -(20 Nha Tho Street) Very cool stuff.  We bought Piper a handmade silk teddy bear there.  (It is also across the street from Medierrano and Paris Deli)

“Brocade Shop” Red Rose Craft - (24 Nha Tho)- The Sapa clothes shop where I bought Piper some traditional clothing from Sapa. 

Trang & Anh Silk - (No. 3, Ly Quoc Su) Handmade Contemporary Silk Kids Clothes.  Very cool stuff!

La Do Re - (31c Ly Quoc Su) I recognize this sign, but for the life of me, I can’t remember what I bought there.  We wouldn’t have taken a picture of the sign if I didn’t like it for some reason though. hmmm.

Thu Do - (24 Nha Tho) I bought a bunch of stuffed animals from Sapa here.  They had a great selection for very low prices.

Castalia - (7b Ly Quoc Su Street) a  fun dress shop!

Vietnam Quilts -  (16 Hang Tre) This was quite a trek on foot, but they had some very beautiful quilts.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “vietnam favorites part 2 – Hanoi”

  1. Kelli K Says:

    I loved these past 2 posts. So hoping I get to experience it (and you get to experience it again)!

  2. Nicki Says:

    oh my gosh these pictures make me want to go back BAD!

  3. Lee Says:

    OMG that is the most amazing photo and tour post!
    You could sell that!

    Glad you are back full force!
    Off to catch up on your sweet sweet girl!

    xoxo

  4. Stacie Says:

    Nicole,

    This is SO fabulous!!!! Thanks for sharing all of the great information and the phenomenal pictures! Piper is just the cutest thing, by the way….that smile just melts my heart!! :)

  5. Cinnamon Says:

    Great pictures. I hope you and I both get to see it soon!

  6. rainbowmom Says:

    You have AWESOME photos! I LOVE Vietnam Quilts. I discovered them in 2005 in HCMC, before they were in Hanoi. Before my adoption trip I pre-ordered a quilt, some tree skirts and some Christmas ornaments. I picked them up on my adoption trip. My friend who lives in Hanoi now works for them. They are a great organization!!!

  7. marykateandcraig Says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! We are getting so very excited to travel (soon I hope!!) and these were two wonderful posts! I love the dress shop (as I love sumemr dresses), so I will have to make sure to stop by and check it out! How many bags did you bring home of stuff??

  8. Traci Says:

    Love, love. love this part of your blog… thanks for sharing. Great pictures and info for our trip too. I’m going to print it off and use your pictures & recommmendations for our trip. Piper is beautiful. Congrats.

  9. Laurie Says:

    Oh this totally takes me back! GORGEOUS photos Nicole!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

