first practical purchase

In MY world, shoes and dresses and hairbows are absolutely practical purchases. Who says they aren’t necessities? Well, we broke down and bought two of these:One will stay in my car and the other will be an extra for D to use in his car if he needs to or for Grandma to use. Not that I can imagine being apart from this baby for more than a few minutes. hmmm. If we don’t end up using it enough, at least we will already have one for baby #2 who we hope to meet later next year.

Now I suppose I should figure out my best options for the other so-called practical items. I am stuck on what to do about bottles and highchairs. Does anyone have any input? I could sure use some help.

Bottles have me completely perplexed. After reading this and this I am petrified that I am going to do or buy something wrong and will be shunned on the playground. I get the glass thing, but do they break a lot? Any suggestions?

I am also stuck on highchairs. I love the simple and contemporary look of some of the more expensive wood ones and am not a big fan of the clunky plastic ones. I can’t have a huge one because of the size of our kitchen, and I like the idea of not a lot of ‘leg’ to trip on. I think I also like the idea of it having a tray so that she doesn’t ruin the table. Right? I am so confused.

I recently saw one of these but it is sooo expensive and I expected a little more quality for the price. Has anyone tried one yet?

I saw this the other day. I like the contemporary look and it seems really easy to clean. It is not quite as expensive, but I am still not sure about it.

This is cute but it has such a wide base…
I suppose this is a great choice if you don’t mind using the table?Any help, suggestions or experience would be much appreciated!

Explore posts in the same categories: practical purchases

3 Comments on “first practical purchase”

  1. Susan Says:

    Hi. Thanks for visiting my blog. I thought I’d chime in on bottles and high chairs.

    I LOVE the Avent bottles. I used both the ones with the disposable preformed liners (came in very handy in Vietnam) and the regular bottles. Petunia took to them right away and didn’t have problems with bubbles in the tummy.

    A friend of mine recommended the Svan high chair and I’m so glad she did. It is a little pricey, but it’s a convertible chair that can be used a long time. It also takes up very little room and cleans up easily. Petunia no longer uses the tray — she pulls up to the table right next to me. We both love the Svan. If you’re interested, go to svanstore dot com and check it out.

    Congratulations on your referral, and good luck on deciding on your purchases!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I have never posted on your blog before, but have read it several times. Anyway, my thoughts on bottles are this (after having 2 baby girls in 2 years), buy a bunch of different kinds. My first girl wasn’t overly picky but we ended up with Avent and then the Circo (Target) version of those. We started with the Evenflo because I thought the smaller nipple might work better for a little baby. My younger daughter hated any and all bottles. Finally after 9 months she began to accept the Avent ones, which only lasted a little while before she moved on to cups.

    For highchairs we used a booster seat that we strapped to one of our dining table chairs. We used the tray until she began wanting to sit at the table with us. She is 2 1/2 now and she still uses it every time she eats. We spent about 20 dollars on it right around the time she hit 4 months old. The seat we bought could also be totally dismantled and could be put into the dishwasher to be cleaned. That approach worked well for us so my younger daughter received a similar seat for Christmas last year. She is now 14 months old and still using the tray. I hope this helps in some small way. Making these kinds of decisions is tough especially when there are so many options out there.

  3. OHmommy Says:

    We have gone Avent with all three kids.

    I have ended up feeding all three kids on my lap. Go figure. We did the expensive high chairs. And they ended up loving the lap and the plastic booster (3 recliner level) chairs to be up at the table and see us… instead of excluded in the highchair.m Hope that helps. Email me with any questions you have. I have an expensive pallate and love all things baby.


Leave a Reply

