catching up

It has been a whirlwind past few days.  After we got THE email that we had been waiting for, a total calm came over me.  I was actually more calm and relaxed than I had felt in the past few years.  The I600 approval email that we received is basically the US approval of our adoption.  It means that they have investigated our case and that they are going to allow Piper to join our family.  It was such a relief to get this approval because a lot of people have been receiving bad news lately.  We are so happy and fortunate to be one of the lucky ones. 

I received THE email at about 6:30 am on Thursday.  The funny thing is that it was the first night that I had actually slept all the way through in a long time.  I have been getting up 2-3 times a night wondering if I had received the magic email.  But that night I slept.  Unfortunately, my parents both woke up in the night just before 3:45.  They asked why the other was up and they had no answer and tried to go back to sleep.  When I called them as soon as I had the good news, they asked me to look and see what time the email had been sent.  It was sent at 3:47.  Maybe somehow they just knew…

On Thursday, my Mom rushed over to my house first thing in the morning because we had fully expected to have to make all of our travel plans that day.  Since Darren was at work I didn’t want to have to tackle all of that by myself.  Unfortunately, there is a big Vietnamese Holiday next week that was holding us up.  The holiday is the Hung King Festival.  It is predominantly celebrated on Tuesday the 15th, but apparently the provinces shut down on different days making it hard to get everything arranged next week.  So we didn’t end up doing any arranging, but we did finish up a lot of things around the house.  We had spent the two days prior cleaning my house from top to bottom.  I can’t believe how much of a disaster it had been.  I was feeling like a bit of a loser wife and homemaker for letting everything become such a mess.  I don’t think that until you have been through this yourself that you can understand the amount of stress an adoption really is.  I am just so thankful that my Mom was willing to come and help me.  I never could have gotten it all together without her!

At the moment we are STILL waiting to finalize our travel plans.  I will just be very glad when all of that is taken care of.  We are trying to tie up all of our loose ends around the house and get ready for our big trip.  I have had Piper’s suitcase and all of the orphanage donations packed for weeks now.  I am very glad I have that done.  Oh that reminds me – to all of you that are waiting for I600 approval, it is seriously in your best interest to get as much done and packed before you get approval.  A few hours after the calm hit me, an overwhelming exhaustion came next.  I don’t think I have ever been so tired.   If we had actually been able to travel as quickly as we thought we would I would have been in serious trouble.  I am a little thankful to have a few days before we go to rest up and get my energy back.  So please do yourself a favor and get as ready as you can while you have the time and energy!

Ok.  More later.  I need to go cross a few more things off my ‘to do’ list.  But I promise to be better about posting.  Especially since my friend Emily told me I had better or I would be in big trouble!

Explore posts in the same categories: adoption

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “catching up”

  1. Kelli K Says:

    I hope you get all the travel plans finalized soon!!!

  2. lookingforlulu Says:

    Yup..TROUBLE!:)
    7 days till Piper!!!

  3. abigailstewart76 Says:

    I’m so excited for you 🙂 I was so sorry to have missed all the fun at the baby shower 😦 It looks as though you received some really lovely things for P 🙂 I can’t wait to meet her 🙂

    love,
    abigail

  4. Jen Says:

    Wow. I’m going through your entries after you received approval and it is total deja vu. I slept great for a week and now I am a ball of nerves. I am so excited that you are leaving for VN really soon!!


Leave a Reply

