exhaustion and excitement

We leave for the airport today at 4:30.  In 8 hours and 15 minutes.  I can’t believe we are leaving for the airport to fly to another country to go meet our daughter.  I haven’t quite wrapped my head around that yet.  Holy macaroni.  I am going to be a Mom!

We are mostly packed.  I just need to finish the last suitcase and get the carry-on’s under control.  For those of you waiting to travel, be sure you take a moment to look up the luggage limits.  In Vietnam, your carry on can’t weigh over 15 lbs.  That isn’t much.  I have no idea how strict they are about that, but I probably shouldn’t test it.  So look up the airline requirements now so that you are prepared. 

Darren and I are both absolutely exhausted.  I don’t remember ever being so tired.  D says that I haven’t seen tired yet!  oh boy.  I think the past several years of stress and worry just caught up with us.  The relief took over and my body feels like it is crashing.  So to all of you who are waiting for approval, get ready now!  Even you, K, who says you function best under pressure!  This is different that normal pressure.  Trust me, you will be tired.  Excited but exhausted.  It’s a funny combination.

We fly from here to Seattle, Seattle to Taipei, and then Taipei to Ho Chi Minh City.  We will arrive in HCM on Saturday morning VN time.  It will be a long trip, but so worth it.  We will meet up with another family from our agency in Taipei and I am looking forward to meeting their two little girls from China!  Our Giving & Receiving Ceremony is scheduled for Monday, but I am not sure when we will leave HCM to fly to the Province that Piper is in.  I am fairly certain it will be really early on Sunday morning (like 4am early).  We will fly there and then go and visit the babies at the orphanage.  We have two huge bags of orphanage donations.  For our orphanage donations we have: books on Colorado, crayons, matchbox cars, fancy light-up toothbrushes, tons of fancy stickers, pencils, washcloths, combs, CU and CSU hats for the little boys, Hannah Montana t-shirts for the girls :), 18 pillows that we made for the babies and toddlers, children’s and baby medicines, baby clothes for babies waiting for referrals, and I know I am forgetting more stuff but my mind is fried!

For the Nanny gifts, I made sterling silver necklaces that are each totally one of a kind.  We also brought a ton of CD’s and a bunch of gift bags to put them in for gifts for the officials and our favorite cab driver etc.  I love giving presents!

Ok.  I had better get back to packing and go finish the pedicure I started this morning.  A girl needs pretty toes to get her baby, trust me!

By this time in four more days I will be a Mom!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “exhaustion and excitement”

  1. Thuy Says:

    Congratulations!!! Can’t wait to follow your journey. Have a safe trip.

  2. lookingforlulu Says:

    the nannies will freak over the bracelets! GREAT idea!

    you are so right abt that exhaustion that overcomes you. but, i swear your adrenaline will keep you going throughout the entire trip.

    i am so excited..i feel like i am about to experience it all again!
    safe travels!

  3. Mr Lady Says:

    I was wondering why I wasn’t getting updates in my reader. DUH.

    I’ll be thinking of you every step of the way. ((Hugs))

  4. Christine Says:

    I am so excited for you. I can’t wait to hear about your adventures and to see that first picture of your new family!!

    I hope you have a great time. Thanks again for everything!


Leave a Reply

